Modern Languages and Literatures Faculty

Fazia Aitel, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Associate Professor
Ph.D. in Comparative Literature, Graduate School and University Center of the City University of New York
Teaching: French, Comparative Literature, North African Literature, Cinema, and Immigration, ...
Research: Francophone literature from Africa and especially North Africa, Berber studies, ...
fazia.aitel@claremontmckenna.edu , (909) 607-0477, Roberts North 217

 

Nicole Altamirano, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Visiting Assistant Professor
B.A., M.A., Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley
Teaching: Hispanic Language and Literature,
Research: 20th-century Spanish and Latin American literature, Golden Age Literature, women writers, gender studies.,
nicole.altamirano@claremontmckenna.edu , (909) 607-0836, Roberts North 203A

 

Bassam Frangieh, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Professor
B.A., Damascus University, Syria; M.S., Ph.D., Georgetown University
Research: Arabic Language, Modern and Classical Arabic Poetry, ...
bfrangieh@cmc.edu , (909) 607-3484, Roberts North 213

 

Carlos Enrique Gonzales, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D., December 2002, University of Southern California, Department of Spanish and Portuguese. M.A., May 1996, University of Southern California, Department of Spanish and Portuguese
cgonzales@cmc.edu , (909) 607-3174, Roberts North 203B

 

Ghenwa Hayek, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Assistant Professor
PhD, Brown University MA, Leeds University BA, American University of Beirut
ghenwa@cmc.edu , (909) 607-3871, Roberts North 215

 

Esther Hernandez, M.A. -- read full profile

 


Visiting Instructor
M.A. Dramaturgy, University of Havana, M.A. Literatura & Linguistics, California State University
Teaching: Theater, Spanish Language and Literature,
Research: Contemporary Dramaturgy and Mise en Scene,
esther.hernandez@claremontmckenna.edu , (909) 607-1711, Roberts North 204B

 

Young Wha Hong, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Visiting Assistant Professor
B.A., Yonsei University in Seoul, Korea, M.A., Yonsei University in Seoul, Korea, Ph.D., University of Southern California
Teaching: Korean language, Korean culture, ...
Research: to integrate culture into language instruction, especially Korean,
young.hong@claremontmckenna.edu , (909) 607-3807, Roberts North 212

 

Minju Kim, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Associate Professor
B.A., M.A., Yonsei University; Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
Research: Grammaticalization, Discourse Analysis, ...
minju.kim@claremontmckenna.edu , (909) 607-2503, Roberts North 216

 

Claire Nettleton, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Visiting Assistant Professor of French
Claire.Nettleton@ClaremontMcKenna.edu , ( ) - , TBD

 

Mona Prince Radwan, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Visiting Associate Professor
Mona.Prince@ClaremontMcKenna.edu , ( ) - , Roberts North 212

 

Andrea Reyes, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D., UCLA, December 2003
Teaching: Spanish language, Contemporary Latin American literature, Colonial Latin American literature, Latin American culture and civilization, Women writers of Latin America, Mexican journalists,
Research: Women journalists of Latin America,
andrea.reyes@cmc.edu , (909) 607-3807, Roberts North 204A

 

Marie-Denise Shelton, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Professor
B.A., M.A., Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
Teaching: Modern French Literature, African & Caribbean Literature and Cinema, ...
Research: Caribbean Literature; Haitian Literature; Caribbean Women Writers; Modern French Literature,
marie-denise.shelton@cmc.edu , (909) 607-3456, Roberts North 218

 

Lee Skinner, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Associate Professor
B.A., Brown University; Ph.D., Emory University; Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, University of Kansas.
Teaching: Nineteenth-century Spanish American narrative and essay; Nation and identity in Spanish America; Gender and sexuality ,
Research: I am currently writing a book tentatively titled "Gender and the Rhetoric of Modernity in Spanish America, 1850-1920" which explores the reactions of Spanish American intellectuals in their fiction and essays to the rhetoric of modernity emanating from Eu,
lskinner@cmc.edu , (909) 607-3528, Roberts North 214

 

Norman Valencia, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Assistant Professor
PhD Yale University (Brazilian and Hispanic American Literatures) MA New York University (Humanities and Social Thought) BA Universidad de los Andes (Magna cum Laude in Literature)
Teaching: Spanish and Portuguese Languages Brazilian Literature Political and Social Approaches to Latin American Modern and Contemporary Literatures,
Research: Comparative approaches to Brazilian and Hispanic American Literatures and Cultures Literary Theory and Criticism in Latin America Paternalism and Politics Psychoanalysis ,
nvalencia@cmc.edu , (909) 607- , Roberts North 211

 

Raquel Vega-Duran, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Assistant Professor
B.A., Universidad de Sevilla, Spain Certificate of Graduate Studies in Film Studies, University of Michigan Ph.D., University of Michigan
Teaching: Peninsular Spanish Literature, Spanish Visual Cultural Production (Cinema, Documentary Film,Photography, Painting) , ...
Research: I am currently working on my book Emigrant Dreams / Immigrant Borders: The Construction of Spanish Identity in Contemporary Atlantic and Mediterranean Journeys ,
raquel.vega-duran@cmc.edu , (909) 607-9330, Roberts North 219

 

Salvador Velazco, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Associate Professor of Latin American Cinema and Literature
B.A., University of Guadalajara, Mexico; M.A., University of California, Los Angeles; Ph.D., University of Michigan
Teaching: Latin American Cinema, Latin American Documentary, ...
Research: The Heirs: Mexican Documentary Cinema of the 21st Century. It presents a series of close readings of a variety of documentary types and formal approaches that exemplify the extraordinary vitality of this genre in Mexico.,
svelazco@cmc.edu , (909) 607-7984, Roberts North 220