RDS Seminar Series

Fall 2008


Bill Branch - U.C. Irvine
“Learning about Risk and Return: A Simple Model of Bubbles and Crashes”
Wednesday, September 17, 2008
4:05-5:30pm
RS 105

Peter Henry - Stanford GSB
“Capital Account Liberalization, Real Wages, and Productivity”
(Sponsored by the Lowe Institute)
Friday, September 26, 2008
10:30am-12noon
RS 104

Sandra Black - UCLA
"Too Young to Leave the Nest? The Effects of School Starting Age"
Wednesday, October 1, 2008
4:05pm-5:30pm with wine and cheese reception to follow
Founder's Room, Bauer North

James Barth - Auburn University/Milliken Institute
(Postponed until a later date)

Francis Longstaff - Anderson School, UCLA
“The Subprime Credit Crisis and Contagion in Financial Markets”
Wednesday, October 22, 2008
4:05pm-5:30pm with wine and cheese reception to follow
Founder's Room, Bauer North

George Deltas, University of Illinois
"Oligopolies with (Somewhat) Environmentally Conscious Consumers:
Market Equilibrium and Regulatory Intervention"
Friday, October 24, 2008
10:30am-12noon
Founder's Room, Bauer North

Alan Taylor - U.C. Davis
“Is the Washington Consensus Dead? Growth, Openness,
and the Great Liberalization, 1970s-2000s”
(Sponsored by the Lowe Institute)
Friday, October 31, 2008
10:30am-12noon
Founder's Room, Bauer North

Craig Gundersen - University of Illinois
"Identifying the Effects of Food Stamps on the Nutritional Health
of Children when Program Participation is Misreported"
Thursday, November 6, 2008
4:05pm-5:30pm with wine and cheese reception to follow
Founder's Room, Bauer North

Michael Klein -The Fletcher School,Tufts University and NBER
“Exchange Rate Regimes in the Modern Era”
Friday, November 7, 2008
10:30am-12:00noon
Roberts South 104

Terra McKinnish - University of Colorado Boulder
“Who Gentrifies Low-Income Neighborhoods?”
Friday, November 14, 2008
4:05pm-5:30pm with wine and cheese reception to follow
Founder's Room, Bauer North

Michael Ostrovsky - Stanford GSB
“Information Disclosure and Unraveling in Matching Markets”
Wednesday, November 19, 2008
4:05pm-5:30pm
Founder's Room, Bauer North

Peter Wysocki - MIT Sloan School of Management
"Pairs Trading and Accounting Information"
Friday, November 21, 2008
10:30-12:00 noon
Robert South 104

Mary Evans - University of Tennessee 
"Measuring How Risk Tradeoffs Adjust With Income"
Friday, December 5, 2008
10:30am-12:00noon
RS 104

Richard Schneible, Jr. - Texas Christian University, Neeley School of Business
"Changes in Information Asymmetry over the Last Thirty Years"
Friday, December 12, 2008
10:30-12:00 noon
Bauer South 33